NIAGARA PENINSULA CONSERVATION AUTHORITY WELLAND JANUARY 24, 2007

7:00 p.m.

ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES

MEMBERS PRESENT: B. Baty

B. Bentley
G. Burroughs
B. Butters
T. Dalimonte
D. DiFruscio
A. Fevez
D. Goulborne

B. Greenwood

B. Heit

B. HendersonN. JohnsonD. MartinD. Ransom

MEMBERS ABSENT: M. Moccio (with regrets)

STAFF PRESENT: A.L. Burt, General Manager

L. Sawatzky, Recording Secretary

T. McDougall, Executive Director Conservation Foundation

M. Stack, Director Communications

T. D'Amario, Director, Water Management

OTHERS PRESENT: Erin Campbell, MacGillivray Partners

Don Pearson, Conservation Ontario John Crossingham, Crossingham, Brady

BUSINESS:

The Vice-Chairman called the 48th Annual meeting to order at 7:07 p.m. and welcomed those in attendance and introduced Erin Campbell from MacGillivray Partners, the Authority's auditors, Don Pearson, General Manager of Conservation Ontario and John Crossingham of Crossingham, Brady the Authority's solicitors. He then requested everyone to introduce themselves.

The Vice-Chairman advised that the members had received in their board packages a copy of the Authority's Voting and Election Procedures. He requested a motion accepting these procedures. The following resolution was then presented.

FA-01-07

MOVED BY: M. DiFruscio SECONDED BY: B. Greenwood

THAT: the Conservation Authority's Voting and Election Procedures be approved.

"CARRIED"

Annual Meeting Minutes January 24, 2007 continued

FA-02-07

MOVED BY: B. Heit

SECONDED BY: G. Burroughs

THAT: Andrew L. Burt be appointed Acting Chairman for the election of the

Authority Chairman and Vice-chairman for 2007.

1) ELECTION OF OFFICERS FOR 2007

Mr. Burt declared all offices vacant. He then outlined the Authority's voting and election procedures which have been followed for previous elections. The following resolution was then presented.

FA-03-07

MOVED BY: B. Baty SECONDED BY: B. Bentley

THAT: Erin Campbell and John Crossingham be appointed to serve as scrutineers

in the event of an election.

"CARRIED"

ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

The Acting Chairman then called for nominations for the office of Chairman.

Mickey DiFruscio nominated Doug Ransom

The Acting Chairman called once again for nominations for the office of Chairman.

Gary Burroughs nominated Brian Baty

The Acting Chairman called for the third and final time for nominations for the office of Chairman.

Before closing nominations, the Acting Chairman asked Mr. Ransom if he would accept the nomination, which he advised he would. He then asked Mr. Baty if he would accept the nomination, which he advised he would.

There being no further nominations, the following resolution was presented.

FA-04-07

MOVED BY: B. Bentley SECONDED BY: A. Fevez

THAT: nominations for the office of Authority Chairman for 2007 be closed.

"CARRIED"

The Acting Chairman then asked Mr. Ransom if he wished to speak to the members and Mr. Ransom advised he would. The Acting Chairman advised him he had three minutes to do so.

Annual Meeting Minutes January 24, 2007 continued

Mr. Ransom provided an outlined of his background and his reasons for seeking the position.

The Acting Chairman then asked Mr. Baty if he wished to speak and Mr. Baty advised he would.

Mr. Baty outlined his background as well as his reasons and qualifications for seeking the position.

The Recording Secretary then handed out ballots to all members in attendance.

The scrutineers collected the ballots and left the meeting. Upon their return, the Acting Chairman requested Mr. Crossingham to advise the board of the successful candidate.

Mr. Crossingham advised that Mr. Doug Ransom had been elected Chairman for the year 2007.

Mr. Ransom then assumed the chair and thanked the board for their support.

ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

The Chairman then called for nominations for the office of Vice-Chairman.

Mickey DiFruscio nominated Brian Baty

The Chairman called once again for nominations for the office of Vice-Chairman.

The Acting Chairman called the third and final time for nominations for the office of Vice-Chairman.

Before closing nominations the Chairman asked Mr. Baty if he would be willing to stand for the office of Vice-Chairman. Mr. Baty advised he would.

The following resolution was then presented.

FA-05-07

MOVED BY: B. Bentley SECONDED BY: B. Henderson

THAT: nominations for the office of Authority Vice-Chairman for 2007 be closed.

"CARRIED"

The Chairman advised that Mr. Baty was elected Vice-chairman for the year 2007 by acclamation.

FA-06-07

MOVED BY: G. Burroughs SECONDED BY: B. Heit

THAT: all ballots be destroyed.

Annual Meeting Minutes <u>January 24, 2007 continued</u>

The Director, Communications then proceeded to destroy the ballots.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the following resolution was presented.

FA-07-07

MOVED BY: D. Goulborne

SECONDED BY: B. Heit

THAT: this meeting do now adjourn.

Received at 7:32 p.m. "CARRIED"

"L. Sawatzky, Recording Secretary

D. Ransom, Chairman"