

VOTING AND ELECTION PROCEDURES

- (1) The order for elections shall be as follows:
 - (a) Authority Chairman
 - (b) Authority Vice-Chairman
- (2) Authority Chairman requests a motion to appoint the CAO/Secretary-Treasurer as Acting Chairman to conduct the election for the office of Chairman for 2011 in accordance with the Authority's Administrative Rules and Procedures.
- (3) Acting Chairman then declares all offices vacant and requests a resolution to appoint two (2) scrutineers in the event of an election.
- (4) Acting Chairman advises that only members appointed for 2011 by the member municipalities may vote.
- (5) Floor is then opened for nominations for office of Chairman. Nominations must be asked for three (3) times. Following this, a motion is requested to close nominations.
- (6) Nominations for office require a **mover** only.
- (7) Persons nominated are asked <u>in order of nomination</u> if they will allow their name to stand for office. Those agreeing to stand will be permitted up to three (3) minutes to speak for the office in the same order as nominated.
- (8) Where only one (1) person stands for the office, the office is declared to be elected by acclamation.
- (9) Where more than one (1) person stands for office, a secret ballot vote will take place.
- (10) In the event of a vote, the individual with the lowest number of votes will be dropped from the slate until one individual obtains a majority of votes cast.
- (11) A tie vote will be declared where there has been an equality of votes received by all nominees after 2 consecutive ballots for the same office.
- (12) In the event of a tie vote, the names of the tied nominees will be placed in a container and a scrutineer will select a name and that person shall be declared elected to the office in question.
- (13) At the completion of the elections the Chairman requests a motion to destroy all ballots.



NIAGARA PENINSULA CONSERVATION AUTHORITY 52nd ANNUAL MEETING

BALL'S FALLS JANUARY 21, 2011 10:00 A.M.

AGENDA

- (1) Introductions
- (2) Election of Officers for 2011
- (3) Remarks Newly Elected Chairman

ADJOURNMENT