

NIAGARA PENINSULA CONSERVATION AUTHORITY

BALL'S FALLS JANUARY 18, 2012 7:00 p.m.

ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES

MEMBERS PRESENT: B. Maves (Chairman)

D. Barrick
B. Baty
S. Beattie
T. Dalimonte
C. D'Angelo
D. DiFruscio
T. Easton
D. Eke
A. Jeffs

D Joyner B. Timms(Vice-Chairman)

MEMBERS ABSENT: D. Ransom (with regrets)

B. Sharpe (with regrets)B. Steckley (with regrets)

STAFF PRESENT: T. D'Amario, CAO/Secretary-Treasurer

D. Bois, Acting Recording Secretary
J. Kukalis, Director, Water Management
D. Baker, Director, Land Management
M. Stack, Director Communications

OTHERS PRESENT: Don Pearson, General Manager, Conservation Ontario

John Crossingham, Solicitor

Randy Momot, MacGillivray Partners

Mark Neufeld, Chairman Source Protection Committee

Andy Fevez, Past NPCA Board Member

Dave Drobitch, Superintendent, Long Beach & Chippawa Creek

Doug Durant, DSBN, Manager of Projects & Maintenance

Colleen Fast, DSBN, Staff Kevin Graham, DSBN, Staff

Greg A. Redden, Macdonald Zuberec Ensslen Architects Inc Harald Ensslen, Macdonald Zuberec Ensslen Architects Inc Frank Scremin – Hamilton Int. Airport, Director, Operations Eric Cunningham – Hamilton Int. Airport, Communications

Klara Young-Chin, Friends of One Mile Creek Gerry Beneteau, Friends of One Mile Creek

John Sonneveld, Wainfleet Citizen Glen Robins, Wainfleet Citizen Bev Lepard, Wainfleet Citizen

Len Pennachetti, Twenty Valley Tourism / Cave Spring Cellars

Eric Cunningham, Former MPP (1977-1984)

Annual Meeting Minutes January 18, 2012 continued

BUSINESS:

The Chairman called the Annual meeting to order at 7:08 p.m. and welcomed those in attendance.

1) <u>INTRODUCTIONS</u>

The CAO introduced the guests and staff present.

The following resolution was then presented.

FA-01-12

MOVED BY: D. DiFruscio SECONDED BY: T. Dalimonte

THAT: Tony D'Amario be appointed Acting Chairman for the election of the

Authority Chairman for 2012.

"CARRIED"

2) ELECTION OF OFFICERS FOR 2012

Mr. D'Amario assumed the chair and declared all offices vacant. He then outlined the Authority's voting and election procedures which have been followed for previous elections.

The following resolution was presented.

FA-02-12

MOVED BY: C. D'Angelo SECONDED BY: D. DiFruscio

THAT: John Crossingham and Randy Momot be appointed to serve as scrutineers

in the event of an election.

"CARRIED"

ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

The Acting Chairman then called for nominations for the office of Chairman.

Mickey DiFruscio nominated Brian Baty.

The Acting Chairman called once again for nominations for the office of Chairman.

Dave Eke nominated Bart Maves.

The Acting Chairman called for the third and final time for nominations for the office of Chairman.

There being no further nominations, the following resolution was presented.

Annual Meeting Minutes January 18, 2012 continued

FA-03-12

MOVED BY: A. Jeffs SECONDED BY: C. D'Angelo

THAT: nominations for the office of Authority Chairman for 2012 be closed.

"CARRIED"

The Acting Chairman advised that each had 3 minutes to speak.

Brian Baty agreed to allow his name to stand. He spoke about what he thought the position of Chairman should entail and steps he would take to promote the Authority.

Bart Maves agreed to allow his name to stand. He overviewed how he had, over the past year, been kept apprised of Authority issues, and how he had met with regional constituents to address their concerns. He also attended as many functions as he could, including such things as tree planting with school children at E.C. Brown.

The Acting Chairman thanked everyone for their comments and requested the Recording Secretary to hand out the ballots.

The Recording Secretary handed out the ballots.

John Crossingham collected up the ballots.

Upon returning, Mr. Crossingham provided the results to the CAO who advised as follows:

Bart Maves - 7, and Brian Baty 5

Bart Mayes was declared Chairman for 2012.

Mr. Maves thanked everyone for their support and assumed the Chair.

The following resolution was presented.

FA-04-12

MOVED BY: A. Jeffs
SECONDED BY: C. D'Angelo
THAT: all ballots be destroyed.

"CARRIED"

The CAO destroyed the ballots.

ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

The Chairman called for nominations for the office of Vice-Chairman.

Dave Eke nominated Bruce Timms.

The Chairman called once again for nominations for the office of Vice-Chairman.

Annual Meeting Minutes January 18, 2012 continued

The Chairman called the third and final time for nominations for the office of Vice-Chairman.

The Chairman asked Mr. Timms if he would stand and he agreed he would.

The following resolution was then presented.

FA-05-12

MOVED BY: A. Jeffs
SECONDED BY: T. Easton

THAT: nominations for the office of Authority Vice-Chairman for 2012 be closed.

"CARRIED"

Bruce Timms was declared Vice-Chairman for 2012 by acclamation.

3) REMARKS – NEWLY ELECTED CHAIRMAN

The Chairman thanked the board for their support and is looking forward to a successful, and challenging 2012.

4) REMARKS – CONSERVATION ONTARIO

The Chairman asked Don Pearson, General Manager of Conservation Ontario, to come forward and make a presentation. Mr. Pearson overviewed current issues and concerns and spoke on the organization as a whole, going forward. It was an interesting talk and he thanked the Board for the opportunity to speak. The Chairman thanked him for his presentation and asked if he would take questions from the Board, to which he agreed.

Mr. Pearson was asked to comment on the question of fracking to extract gas from shale and he advised that this issue should not impact this area because of its location on the high edge of area suitable for this type of process. He was then asked to give the history and process of floodplain mapping in Ontario. The Board found his presentation very informative.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the following resolution was presented.

FA-06-12

MOVED BY: D. DiFruscio SECONDED BY: C. D'Angelo

THAT: this meeting do now adjourn.

Received at 7:44 p.m. "CARRIED"