

NIAGARA PENINSULA CONSERVATION AUTHORITY 57th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday January 20, 2016; 9:30 am 3292 Sixth Avenue; Jordan, ON Ball's Falls Centre for Conservation - Elgin Room

MEMBERS PRESENT: B. Timms (Chair)

S. Annunziata (Vice-Chair)

B. Batv

S. Beattie

F. Campion

P. Darte

D. DiFruscio

J. Diodati

B. Hodgson

A. Jeffs

D. Joyner

J. Kaspersetz

J. Maloney

T. Quirk

R. Shirton

MEMBERS ABSENT: None

STAFF PRESENT: C. D'Angelo, CAO/Secretary-Treasurer

D. Barrick, Director, Corporate Services

P. Graham, Director Watershed Management

M. Brickell, Acting Director, Operations

M. Ferrusi, HR Generalist

K. Vallier, Communications & Foundations Manager

G. Verkade, Manager, Information Management & Technology Systems

B. Wright, Manager, Watershed Projects

G. Furtney, Supervisor, Operations

M. Reles, Communications Specialist

J. Fazekas, Park Assistant, Ball's Falls

L. Conte, Administrative Assistant, Office of CAO & Board

OTHERS PRESENT: Jerry Lemick, Brian Jaworsky, Glen Robins, Lennie Aarts, Bev

Lepard

INTRODUCTION

NPCA Chief Administrative Officer C. D'Angelo welcomed the board members and guests to our 57th Annual General Meeting. Each year at the AGM the NPCA holds an election for the Chair and Vice-Chair. Meeting was called to order at 9:45 am.

BUSINESS:

1. Election of the Chair

Resolution No. FA-01-16

Moved by: R. Shirton Seconded by: B. Baty

THAT the CAO/Secretary Treasurer be appointed Acting Chair for the election of the Authority Chair and Vice-Chair for 2016.

CARRIED

Resolution No. FA-02-16

Moved by: T. Quirk Seconded by: J. Diodati

THAT Mark Brickell and Peter Graham be appointed as scrutineers in the event of an election.

CARRIED

CAO, D'Angelo called for NOMINATIONS for the office of Authority Chair;

Moved by: T. Quirk

THAT Bruce Timms be nominated for the office of Authority Chair for 2016.

- B. Timms accepted his name to stand for nomination of Chair 2016.
- CAO, D'Angelo called for NOMINATIONS for the office of Authority Chair a second time;

No nominations put forth,

 CAO, D'Angelo called for NOMINATIONS for the office of Authority Chair for a third and final time.

Having no further nominations, the office of Authority Chair for 2016 was closed with the following resolution:

Resolution No. FA-03-16

Moved by: B. Baty Seconded by: T. Quirk

THAT the nominations for the office of Authority Chair for 2016 be closed.

CARRIED

Member Bruce Timms was acclaimed as Authority Chair for 2016.

2. **Election of Vice-Chair**

CAO, C. D'Angelo called for NOMINATIONS for the office of Authority Vice-Chair.

Moved by: J. Diodati

THAT Sandy Annunziata be nominated for the office of Authority Vice-Chair for 2016.

- S. Annunziata accepted his name to stand for nomination of Vice-Chair 2016.
- CAO, C. D'Angelo called for NOMINATIONS for the office of Authority Vice-Chair a second time:

No nominations put forth,

 CAO, C. D'Angelo called for NOMINATIONS for the office of Authority Vice-Chair for a third and final time.

Having no further nominations, the office of Authority Vice-Chair for 2016 was closed with the following resolution:

Resolution No. FA-04-16

T. Quirk Moved by: Seconded by: B. Batv

THAT the nominations for the office of Authority Vice-Chair for 2016 be closed.

CARRIED

Sandy Annunziata was acclaimed as Authority Vice-Chair for 2016.

The Board formalized the acclamations with the following resolution;

Resolution No. FA-05-16

Moved by: R. Shirton Seconded by: P. Darte

THAT Bruce Timms has been acclaimed as Authority Chair of NPCA for 2016; and further,

THAT Sandy Annunziata has been acclaimed as Authority Vice-Chair of NPCA for 2016.

CARRIED

3. Remarks from newly acclaimed Chair and Vice-Chair

B. Timms, expressed gratitude for a renewed term as Chair and for the continued support by board members. He committed to establishing a stronger working relationship within Conservation Ontario and in particular, with the Chairs of the Conservation Authorities that have funding municipalities in common with the NPCA. Timms looks forward to positive changes through the Conservation Authorities Act Review by the Province and the Wetlands issue with bio-diversity offsetting. Timms is optimistic that significant progress will be made in 2016.

Vice-Chair. Annunziata thanked his Board colleagues for their support and continued confidence and further, expressed his appreciation for the NPCA staff who under Carmen's leadership are following direction from this board and this Organization's mandate. Annunziata looks forward to achieving the set goals with a continued working relationship with municipalities, stakeholders and landowners, to ensure a healthier watershed both environmentally and economically.

4. Selection of Board Members to Standing Committees

a. <u>CLAC (Community Liaison Advisory Committee)</u>

Resolution No. FA-06-16

Moved by: S. Beattie Seconded by: R. Shirton

THAT the Chair be appointed to the CLAC committee.

CARRIED

b. Budget Steering Committee

Resolution No. FA-07-16

Moved by: J. Maloney Seconded by: B. Baty

THAT the Chair, Vice-Chair, T. Quirk, S. Beattie, B. Hodgson and F. Campion, be appointed to the Budget Steering Committee.

CARRIED

c. Audit Committee

Resolution No. FA-08-16

Moved by: S. Annunziata

Seconded by: A. Jeffs

THAT the Chair, Vice-Chair, and T. Quirk, be appointed to the Audit Committee.

CARRIED

Amend with additional member as follows.

Resolution No. FA-09-16

Moved by: P. Darte Seconded by: A. Jeffs

THAT member B. Hodgson also be appointed to the Audit Committee.

CARRIED

d. <u>Watershed Flood Plain Committee</u>

Resolution No. FA-10-16

Moved by: J. Maloney Seconded by: S. Beattie

THAT the Chair, Vice-Chair, A. Jeffs, D. Joyner, J. Diodati, S. Beattie, B. Baty, and R. Shirton be appointed to the Watershed Flood Plain Committee.

CARRIED

It was noted that the City of Welland will recommend a designate to represent Welland in the upcoming month for Board appointment to the Watershed Floodplain Committee.

It was further noted that currently there are 2 (two) non-voting members representing the WRFA and have requested a third member with one voting seat. The Watershed Floodplain Committee has approved this at their January 13 meeting and have made recommendation to the Board resulting in the following resolution;

Resolution No. FA-11-16

Moved by: R. Shirton Seconded by: B. Baty

THAT a 3rd member of the Welland River Floodplain Association be appointed to the Watershed Floodplain Committee; and,

THAT the Welland River Floodplain Association be granted one voting seat; and,

THAT this amendment be added to the Terms of Reference.

CARRIED

e. <u>Cave Springs Master Plan Committee</u>

Resolution No. FA-12-16

Moved by: D. DiFruscio
Seconded by: J. Kaspersetz

THAT B. Hodgson and S. Beattie be appointed as the two co-chairs from NPCA; and, that member(s) Chair, B. Timms; Vice-Chair, S. Annunziata; D. DiFruscio and J. Maloney be appointed as committee members to the Cave Springs Master Plan Committee.

CARRIED

f. Source Protection Committee - Liaison

Resolution No. FA-13-16

Moved by: J. Maloney Seconded by: T. Quirk

THAT member B. Baty continue to serve as the appointed liaison for the Source Protection Committee.

CARRIED

It was noted that SPC members are appointed provincially and that the Authority only appoints a liaison between the Committee and the Authority.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the following resolution was presented:

Resolution No. FA-14-16

Moved by: P. Darte Seconded by: R. Shirton

THAT the Annual General Meeting be adjourned. Received at 10:12 am

CARRIED

Lisa Conte.

Administrative Assistant,

Office of CAO and Board of Directors

D. Bruce Timms, Chair, NPCA